Biotech wins big at the Technology Impact Awards 2023

Nine companies were awarded trophies at the event, and eight individuals were added to the Innovators Hall of Fame.

BC Tech Announces the Winners of the 2023 Technology Impact Awards (CNW Group/BC Tech)

Friday night marked the 30th anniversary of one of the jewels of the local trophy season: the Technology Impact Awards. 

The competition — one of the tech calendar’s most prestigious — covers nine different categories, and highlights the companies and individuals that have achieved exceptional success in the past year.

There were a number of standout moments during the gala, including a live pitch from companies Blanka, VoxCell BioInnovation, and Wiibid to clinch the prize for Startup of the Year; DarkVision and Aspect Biosystems’ notable nominations in multiple categories; and a very strong showing from local biotech businesses on the podium.

Amid ice sculptures, champagne, and golden mascots, the milestone show announced nine award winners during the celebration at the packed house at Parq Vancouver, as well as eight inductees to the Innovators Hall of Fame.

"BC Tech is proud to have played a part in the journey of so many B.C. tech icons and success stories across our 30-year history," shared Jill Tipping, CEO of BC Tech. "Tonight we were honoured to celebrate the achievements of our Hall of Fame inductees and the 2023 TIAs award winners, showcasing the key role of innovation to BC's economy."

Innovators Hall of Fame – 2023 Inductees

Presented in partnership with the Province of BC

  • Judy Bishop

  • Kathy Butler

  • Andrew Harries

  • Don Mattrick

  • Firoz Rasul

  • Shannon Rogers Roy (1968-2023)

  • Geordie Rose

  • William (Bill) H. Thompson (1922-1986)

Company of the Year – Startup

Presented in partnership with Microsoft

Company of the Year – Growth

Presented in partnership with Osler

Company of the Year – Scale

Presented in partnership with Clio

Company of the Year – Anchor

Presented in partnership with Blakes

Gamechanger – Climate Leadership

Presented in partnership with MDA

Excellence in Industry Innovation

Presented in partnership with Accenture

Gamechanger – Diversity & Inclusion

Presented in partnership with PwC

Excellence in Company Culture

Presented in partnership with SAP

Gamechanger – Ambition

Presented in partnership with AbCellera

BC Tech Scholarship

High School Scholarship recipients

  • Manuel Boada

  • Ari Mesrob Cholakian

  • Daniel Mangmang

University Scholarship Recipients

  • Aislinn Dressler

  • Katrina Jewell

  • Carmina Rocheleau

Join the conversation

or to participate.